Proposed fix for afk play and new player slaughter

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by waterProphet, Jan 27, 2018.

1. waterProphet

waterProphet New Member

Hello,

It's been about a week since I started playing (10 days from my records) and I feel now that I have enough understanding of the game mechanics to make a post like this.

First off, I'd like to say I'm really enjoying this game. The general design ideas and constant 'get you into the action' game play is what is lacking from a lot of open world games. I'm also really looking foreword to playing the hive faction as it looks rather interesting.

I have noticed a few problems however, and I'd like to propose some solutions. If you believe they're bad ideas, please tell me why they wont work.

Ves mentioned how new player slaughter is a concerning issue to him. I agree. This type of behavior will certainly push many new players out of the game. This isn't a problem that only one faction is responsible for, I've seen it on both sides, and have engaged in it a bit myself, even though I also am new. I should also note, that I'm doing fine, these fixes aren't designed to make my personal game-play better at the expense of others but rather to improve the game as a whole so we can attract more players.

Part of the problem stems from the lack of sectors each tier of ship is the king of. T4's are so dominant in 6's because they're the biggest ship available. If t6's were allowed... certainly they'd become the most dominant. Another issue is these lower cap pt systems have maps that are rather small, so large ships can see much of the map just by turning on their scanners.

Proposal: lock each incremental sector cap to a tier level.

2-4 caps: t3 (uses 1 cap pt )
    6 caps: t4 (uses 2 cap pts)
    8 caps: t5 (uses 3 cap pts)
    10 caps: t6 (uses 4 cap pts)
    12 caps: t7 (uses 5 cap pts)
    14 caps: t8 (uses 6 cap pts)
    16 caps: t9 (uses 7 cap pts)
    18 caps: t10 (uses 8 cap pts)